Photo by Christian Lambert on Unsplash

How To Coda a Fibonacci sequence?

Using value for New Rows

Christiaan Huizer
3 min readAug 24, 2022

--

The Fibonacci sequence is a series of numbers in which each number is the sum of the two that precede it:

0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34, 55, 89, 144, …

According to WikiPedia: They are named after the Italian mathematician Leonardo of Pisa, later known as Fibonacci, who introduced the sequence to Western European mathematics in his 1202 book Liber Abaci.

Yesterday evening I wrote an example for a Coda maker willing to learn how to Coda with numbers. To make the exercise a bit more substantial I needed some data and although there are many sites out there that provide fake budgets, turn over, margins etc., I decided to use the Fibonacci Sequence.

I needed a table and in order to get started with at least two numbers, so the first two: 0 and 1, but since Coda opens a table with 3 rows, it was easy to start with 0,1,1

The trick is to use values for new rows and to put the column on Text

showing how the function works

Or if you want to copy the trick, see below.

The function Max() can be replaced by Last(), both work. You can see this in action in this document ⬇️.

I hope you enjoyed this article. If you have questions feel free to reach out. Though this article is for free, my work (including advice) won’t be, but there is always room for a chat to see what can be done. Besides you find my (for free) contributions to the Coda Community and on Twitter

My name is Christiaan and I support SMB with calculations (budgets and planning) and I prefer using Coda to get the job done.

Coda comes with a set of building blocksーlike pages for infinite depth, tables that talk to each other, and buttons that take action inside or outside your docーso anyone can make a doc as powerful as an app (source).

Not to forget: the Coda Community provides great insights for free once you add a sample doc.

If you enjoyed this read and would like to get more Coda related content, please consider a Medium membership. It is it only $5 a month, and you’ll have access to every article ever published on Medium. If you sign up using my referral link, I’ll earn a small commission.

--

--

Christiaan Huizer

I write about how to Coda . You find blogs for beginners and experienced makers. I publish about 1 / week. Welcome!